Kelly’s Korner – Pretty in Prima

Before becoming an Urban Girl, my scrapping was ok, but lacked pizzaz.

 

But being part of a creative team means I’ve learned so much about product and technique.  I now know ‘just-enough’ to be dangerous in my craftroom, LOL.  This week I flirted with danger Prima’s, ‘Wild & Free’ collection.

This pretty collection features copper gilded designer papers filled with raspberry, ecru and charcoal images that feel so dreamy to me.  Think of roses and star-dust. It’s all positively luscious!  Stop by my Pinterest Board for all the magic and more inspirations with this beautiful collection.

As usual, I choose to feature my photo’s in a collage of elements and textures.  I popped up layers of the tag sheet with a couple of large flowers over bands cut from the designer paper.

The honeycomb layer between my vignette and background is actually a Architectural Mask by 7 Gypsies. Remember the Gypsies?  They’re back with a line of shabby vintage paper and ephemera that works easily into your projects. These masks can be used as I have here, or as a mask to paint and ink through. Visit the link to see all their amazing goodies!

I used pieces of one mask through-out my design and loved that I could lift and move it around easily until I found the perfect spot.

With beautiful copper foiled elements on the designer paper, I decided to incorporate that into my background too. The polka-dot background is actually a copper foiled vellum over raspberry cardstock!  Printed vellums really add a POW to you project so easily.  I just stapled the four corners with my Tim Holtz – Tiny Attacher.  The staples are so so small and easily hidden in your design.

Here’s another easy way to feature both sides of a designer paper you love.  I cut a band of paper 1 inch wide and cut that into 1.5 inch pieces.  I then assembled them into a chevron strip across my layout. I like how it brings your eye over to my photo collage.

I like to tuck bits of this and that together in the corners to help bring the eye all around my layout.  Here’s a much smaller collage made up of Washi Tape, sequins, Prills, crinkle wire and a remnant from the designer paper. To me, they’re like teeny-tiny mixed media creations of all the pretty things I have on hand.  Go for the gusto and see what transpires!

I’ve shared this little tip before, but it’s so gosh-darn easy, it warrants a repeat!  The random shimmer around the edge of my layout was made by rubbing  a tad of glue stick on the edge, then burnishing Minc foil over that. Easy-Breezy-Oh-My-Louise-E.  Thanks again to our instructor extraordinaire, Elaine T,  for showing me. Minc Foil & Glue Stick, done!

I hope I’ve shared some techniques you can try too!

I’m Kelly, from the Korner for

The Urban Scrapbook

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

2 thoughts on “Kelly’s Korner – Pretty in Prima

    1. ❤ ❤ thank you my little bumble-bee for buzzing by xo. I actually got my hair done at the hotel because it's pretty hot in Dallas in April. Well, we luckily enjoyed a mild day. The guy that did my hair looked like Johnny fever from WKRP, ha! We got married in a Gazebo in The Arboretum, a gorgeous central garden in Dallas. Next time you're here, we can trip down memory lane and look at the photo's…we've aged, LOL. xo k

      Like

We always love hearing from you !

