Kelly’s Korner – Mixed Media Art On Canvas

Greetings from my crazy craft lair, den, hideout, room.

I’ve been thinking about an art canvas since buying these stamps by Carabelle!

I have always loved swinging and never miss the opportunity to try and get as high as one can without falling off the seat.  As a kid, I thought it great fun to see how far I could jump while in full upward swing.  I haven’t tried that move for a while, LOL

I used Japenese newsprint as the background.  The delicate characters seem so artistic to me. Book pages, music sheets, comic books, printed tissue paper and even pretty dinner napkins could also be used for a background.  The fun is in experimenting.

The sides are coloured with Tim Holtz Distress Crayons. They’re so soft and buttery and easily blended, I used my fingers. We sell them individually at Urban.  I used the same product  on the front of the canvas but with a lighter hand.

The nature of a canvas makes it difficult to get a crisp, clear stamped image, so I stamped the tree on to white tissue paper first. I tore away the paper close to the stamped image then applied it to the canvas with Mat Medium. With the smaller stamp of the little girl on the swing, I put a small wooden block behind the canvas to create a level and firm service to stamp on.  Use this trick to color, stamp or stencil a cloth canvas!

The tree boughs were made by stenciling with texture paste, then Bo-Bunny Glitter Paste through the same stencil. I then added extra colour to the tree, garden and little girl with the same Distress Crayons. Finishing touches included white and pink paint splatter.

I imagined my little girl swinging under a spring blossoming tree, a light breeze is blowing petals all around her as her favourite aqua dress floats through the air. I think she feels like a wee sweet bird on a sunny day !

Thanks for swinging by,

I’m Kelly from the Korner for The Urban Scrapbook

11 thoughts on “Kelly’s Korner – Mixed Media Art On Canvas

  1. Finally making a visit to your corner, and while the description of the process reads Greek to me, the outcome evokes wonderful childhood memories (and some from 2 months ago when I hopped on a swing). You are a talented gal, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for coming by LB, especially as it’s not at all your cup of tea ❤ ! You're always a great supporter and I love that you climbed on a swing just recently! I wish I had been there to join you ! Next time I'm in your hood then! Luv K

      Like

    1. Hello, and thanks so much for your question. I’ve blended, Abandoned Coral, Spun Sugar, Cracked Pistachio, Everygreen Bough and Shabby Shutters throughout the canvas. The tree limbs are primarily the last two colours. These crayons blend so nicely with a bit of water that you’ll create unique colour all your own when working with them. Cheers, Kelly 😀

      Like

We always love hearing from you !

