Mother’s Day Card Inspiration with Dorothy

Hi there, welcome to my first post on our new Blog!

Today, I’m sharing a Mother’s Day card I designed.

I’ve been crafting with Prima’s new Art Alchemy Waxes and used them on my flowers. These wax’s effortlessly bring that “WOW” factor to many different surfaces including chipboard, cardstock, paper, wood, archival cast, and plastic too! It’s so versatile.

I began by die-cutting flowers and leaves with Tim Holtz Small Tattered Florals die set #661806, then rubbed Opal Magic Wax (Turquoise Satin and Green Brocade) on to the die cut flowers and leaves with my fingers.  Once assembled, they absolutely shimmer!  The great part is, this wax dries to a permanent finish in about 20 minutes.

Look closer, I also highlighted a few flowers with die cut layers of Glitter Paper by POW, then added Mini Prills to the center of the flowers to give them even more dimension.

My card base was die-cut with Sizzix Fancy Frame Flip-Its #2.  You get 11 pieces in total to help you decorate your card. The paper is Kaisercraft’s  Party Time Collection.

‘MOM’ was die-cut in Glitter Paper and popped up over a die-cut frame from the set.  To finish my card, I added crinkled wire and coordinating ribbon tied in to a bow

Don’t forget to make a coordinating envelope! I used my  We-R Memory Keepers 123 Punchboard. Use the link to see it in our store.

Here’s a new trick! I created a vintage looking wax seal using my hot glue gun!

Using a low temperature glue gun, squeeze a puddle of hot glue on to a non-stick craft mat.  Press an inked wax seal stamp into the center. I used Top Boss embossing ink. This technique can be done with both rubber and acrylic stamps, but it will give a de-bossed image instead of an embossed image.

After letting it cool for about 30 seconds, I peeled the embossed glue off the seal and colored it using a stiff stenciling brush and Prima’s Art Alchemy Metallique Wax (Old Silver). I added a light coloring of Prima’s Art Alchemy Antique Brilliance (Red Amber) with my finger to make the image of the wax seal stand out. I adhered the seal to the envelope with Sookwang tape.

Thanks so much for joining me today.

If you have any questions, leave a comment, I’ll be happy to help!

Happy card making!

Dorothy

We always love hearing from you !

