Kelly’s Korner – Perfectly Imperfect

Are you wondering about the title of today’s post?

Perfectly Imperfect - That's me Kelly from the Korner

Wonder no more!

Korner Kartoon

Source

It’s a new layout featuring yours truly and ‘Oasis’ by Maggie Holmes for Crate Paper. The photo was taken on a holiday in Maui. I thought I’d get one of those action photo’s you’ve probably seen. Where the family are all simultaneously jumping in the air. Right after the hubster took this photo, he rescued me and my wet sun-hat from the ocean. Yep, I wiped out ! LOL

Layout by Kelly's Korner with Oasis by Crate Paper for The Urban Scrapbook

‘Perfectly imperfect’ was stamped onto the photo with Archival Ink. It might also describe my scrapbooking style. I go for the look of ‘randomness’, like everything just fell on to the page. But I actually spend a lot of time planning how to get that look.

Layout Elements by Kelly's Korner for The Urban Scrapbook

On this design, I planned for everything to fall down the middle of the layout, so was conscious of not adding too much to the far left or far right of the photo’s.

Group Odd Numbers together

Always, I think in groups of three, five, seven, etc. Odd numbers work best.

Novu Mouse is available at The Urban Scrapbook

I used Nuvo Mousse, through a stencil to create the round bubbles along the top. Once dry, I used my finger to applied another color of Nuvo Mousse in the center of the bubbles. I love the shimmer of this product! Bonus, once each layer dries, it’s totally permanent ! So you can really add layer after layer after layer!

Texture and Layers

Some other ways to build layers:

– angle your mats
-add Prills along the angles with liquid glue
– glue on sequins, seed beads, buttons, gems
-apply Minc Foil with a glue stick
-machine stitch boarders
-randomly dab with epoxy and glitter
-fussy cut elements from the patterned paper
– add tiny die cuts for detail

 

The more layers, the more interesting your design will be. What are some ways you like to add layers?

Nice to see you here!
I’m Kelly, from the Korner
for The Urban Scrapbook