Kelly’s Korner – Hello Sunshine

Welcome to March ! It’s always sunny on the Korner and more each day, now that we’re receiving new spring paper lines at Urban. I’ve fallen hard for yellow and pink this week.

‘Hello Sunshine’

Welcome to my sunny garden where I’m celebrating my second birthday (do the math).

I’m over the moon that Urban was able to bring in some new Waffle Flower Stamps featuring artwork by the wonderful Canadian illustrator Helen Dardik ! If you’re not yet familiar with Helen’s colorful and whimsical paintings, please visit her blog, Orange You Lucky.  Your heart will take a joyful and colourful leap!

Helen Dardik for Waffle Flower

I used Tim Holtz Distress Markers to colour the stamped images to match perfectly with other elements in my layout. Both ‘Gather’ and ‘Bloom’ paper collections are by Maggie Holmes and co-ordinate seamlessly together.

 

Scrapbook Techniques by Kelly's Korner for The Urban Scrapbook

For a fun detail, I added a coiled wire behind the butterfly to imply it’s bouncing along in the garden. Then added some small dots of Nuvo to the clouds. They just look a little puffier, don’t you think? A few little small details can easily lend depth, texture and whimsy to your layouts. Maybe try a tad of sewing, Washi tape, buttons, sequins and glitter too, LOL ! Go ahead, pile it on!

This is my favourite element, ‘future me’ ! I added tiny eye glasses to her, filled them with Nuvo Crystal Glaze and when dry, coloured them pink. She looks up at me from the happy garden of life with rose coloured glasses and a promising future as a Scrap-a-holic, LOL! I loved the paper and stamps so much, I made a companion page dedicated to my BFF, Alys!

Happy Souls Shine by Kelly's Korner for The Urban Scrapbook

Alys is one of the happiest souls I know! Here we’re celebrating her surprise visit with me in San Diego! The stamps are also Helen Dardik for Waffle Flower. Are they not the cutest? If you peek real close, you’ll see the lady bird wearing an aqua sun hat. Guess what? I also have an aqua sun hat? Are you the least bit surprised? HA!

Scrapbook Techniques by Kelly's Korner for The Urban Scrapbook

It’s preferred that two page layouts coordinate. But doing two matchy-matchy pages is boring for me. So, while the paper is the same…….

the border on the second layout was glittered, I added tassel’s, used another stamp by the same artist and added black striped Washi Tape. They’re similar enough to coordinate, but each unique in their own way.

Speaking of sunshine, we just celebrated a birthday with our dear friend Fran. It’s not a secret, Fran turned 80 this week! She’s enjoying life and we always enjoy her company too. Fran happily announced the renewal of her drivers license and I think she’s a little bundle of awesomeness! Lori baked a scrumptious cake and Lynette designed a custom Art Journal page for us all to celebrate this wonderful lady.

Happy Birthday Fran !!
……and many moooooooore !!
(fyi, Fran is crazy for cows and all things green)

Cheers from the Korner
for The Urban Scrapbook