Kelly’s Korner – Just Be You

welcome-back

source

I know you’re excited to see some of the new products now arriving at Urban. Well clean up those craft rooms and make some room because the first shipment has arrived. Keep an eye on your email this week! We’ve already received some spring paper collections that are so delicious! I fell head over heals for ‘Just Be You’ by Echo Park.

just-be-you-by-echo-park

source

With shades of spring, there’s seafoam green, coral, rose and yellow. It nods to a retro vibe, and the artful affirmations are totally hip. That combination is really appealing to me. Pop over to my Pinterest board for more inspiration. You know me, I’m a layout girl and couldn’t wait to get this gem into the craft room.

just-be-you-layout-by-kellys-korner-for-the-urban-scrapbook

Be you! Be bold! Be brave! Be barefoot!

Be Yourself!

That might be the longest layout title ever, LOL! I decided to cut out the quilted heart from one sheet and sew it onto a new background. Here’s what I started with.

just-be-you-paper-by-echo-park

The quilting part is easy-peasy with a regular sewing machine. Here’s a close up. It’s a quick, extra step that adds more texture to your design and I think it looks more interesting than just taping it on.

sewing-on-your-layout-is-easy

Sparingly tape the two pieces together before you sew to hold them in place. You don’t want your sewing needle picking up a ton of glue.

details-on-just-be-you-layout-by-kellys-korner-for-the-urban-scrapbook

The fun part for me is mixing patterns and details together into one design. Notice how the experts at Echo Park mixed flowers with chevrons, plaids, strips and dots in the quilted heart? I love that!! Here’s a few idea’s you could try too:

just-be-you-layout-typewriter

  • Roll some string together in your palms and tuck it into your design. It’s ok, it’s suppose to look messy

 

  • Cut out your favourite details from the tag sheet and pop them up on your page, I choose the typewriter and the word tags. It’s instant ephemera !

 

  • Dab a bit of glue on your ephemera and sprinkle with Prills. You’re bound to find one you love, they come in 36 colours!! I choose Lemon Chiffon and Coral See’s

 

prills-color-chart

  • Go ahead! Make your layouts sparkle! OK, I admit it ! I am the ‘Urban Queen of Sparkle’ so I say sprinkle it, glue it, tape it, dab it and what ever else that floats your boat.

the-sparkly-stuffJ
Maker’s gonna Make right?

Before I begin a new layout, I make a little collection on my workspace of things I think coordinate well with the paper. I like to use a small tray to corral it into one spot. I might use it all, I might not. If you don’t bring it out, it’ll never see the light of day and that’s a shame. See you soon xo.

You’re awesome to come by!
Thank you!
I’m Kelly from the Korner
for The Urban Scrapbook