Kelly’s Korner – Love Is In The Air

Or is it ?

dr-cooper

Unlike Dr Sheldon Cooper, we’re very much feeling the love at Urban. Have you spotted the new Prima collections yet? I couldn’t resist Prima, Wild & Free . Use the link to visit the Prima Blog for an eye full of stunning projects made with it.

Prima Wild & Free Collection

source

Metallic touches of copper, accent this stunning collection in shades of soft pink, raspberry, worn beige a grey. I fell head over heals for the romantic, traveling gypsy feel of it all. My layout hi-lights a trip to Venice with my one-and-only, Mr Korner……

Venice might be the most romantic destination on the planet.

I wanted to create a place to tuck in photo’s and all the delicious ephemera so I created a shallow pocket by taping together two ripped papers.

Prima Wild & Free Layout by Kelly's Korner for The Urban Scrapbook

Here’s something to try. I used a ribbon to ‘lace’ the edge of my layout. I thought twisting the ribbon slightly looked more interesting. A black cardstock frame balances the other three sides of my layout.

The benifit of Three

Three’s also the number of ephemera items I like to group together. The upper collage is obvious, yet the lower collage worked too when I added a small strip of Washi tape horizontally with two pieces of ephemera. Mix it up ladies! Mix the length and size of your collage items to make it more interesting.

Adding String

You know too, that I’m positively mad for string, twine and threads on my layouts. The trick to placing them where I want them is to tie a few knots along the way. The knot then becomes a place to add a dab of glue to adhere it all exactly where I envision it to be. Just like my hair-colour, it’s planned but still very natural looking. LOL !

Prima Wild & Free

The ephemera pack is generous and so creative. I found the quotes original and this one spoke to me. If you’re brave, go for a little reckless splatter on your layouts. In the end, I don’t want my layouts to look contrived. A wee bit of black splatter adds a sense of randomness to it all.

From my Gypsy heart to yours,
Be Wild + Free, xo
I’m Kelly from the Korner
for The Urban Scrapbook