KELLY’S KORNER – Pocket Letters with Prima

Happy second day of Autumn !
Thank you for visiting and helping me bid an official farewell to summer. Unless of course you live south of the equator and you’re planning your next summer garden or holiday at the beach. Isn’t this a big beautiful world? I’m especially reminded of it everyday when I blog or visit Instagram. It absolutely warms my heart.  To celebrate, why not create this cute coloring page, graciously offered for free from Tammy Tutterow!  You can download it at the link on her blog
As you know, I’m a big fan of colouring and Tammy’s collections of stamps. When I posted my Coasting Through Summer project on Instagram, Tammy contacted me personally to say she loved them and asked for the link to our blog! Exciting right ?!  
Whether next door or half way around the world, I love connecting with artists and crafters.  Speaking of connections, I’m excited to trade a Pocket Letter with Marie Friant, a fantastic paper artist living in Belgium. How fun is that?! You can find the lovely Marie on Instagram or visit Something About Marie  for an eye full of wonderful! I just love her style.

 
Have you heard of ‘Pocket Letters’ ?  It’s a whole new way of crafting with paper,  Sounds like something we all like to do, right? There’s ton’s of inspiration at Pinterest! 

 

 
You make nine small cards, paintings, collages or whatever’s in your bag of tricks and pop them into a nine pocket page protector measuring 8.5 x 11. I used the new Prima Rossi Belle Collection . An opulent combinations of romance and metallic coolness that nods to the past with a modern attitude!

Photo credit: Prima Marketing
 
Their A4 pad was wonderful for creating the illusion of 3D embellishments on each collage. Here, I’m sharing four of them.
 
One of the pockets must contain a letter for the recipient, hence it’s called a Pocket Letter. Guess what? My very dearest friend Alys  and I also met through our blogs.  She generously gifted me cherished pages from her dads vintage stamp collection and now I’m sharing one of the stamps with Marie. 

  

I chose it because it’s Canadian. Can you see the cancel marks? I left the yellowed tape on top where Mr Milner carefully pasted it to his album all those years ago. From one heart to another, this little stamp from 1903 will arrive via snail mail once again. 

 

 
This is the second trade I’ve made with gals I’ve connected with on Instagram.  It’s a fun community of creative souls. The gilded bird and star tucked into these collages were a gift from Jen who lives in Colorado.  Jen sells her creations on Etsy! 

 
I’ll be making another Pocket Letter for Urban soon. If you’re inspired to join in the fun, you can visit this link to learn more. In the meantime, Ralph Waldo Emerson recommends, “be silly, be honest, be kind”.
 
Thanks so much for coming by
I’m Kelly, from the Korner
For The Urban Scrapbook

13 thoughts on “KELLY’S KORNER – Pocket Letters with Prima

  1. Hi hon, Thanks so much for your messages. You are always a great support, I'm so lucky. I had a great time connecting with Marie. I love knowing creative souls around the world (like you). The Canadian Stamp was just so perfect, I just had to be included. I've looked at them many many times and never want to part with them. But, you know, if Alys could be so kind to share them with me, I should learn from her. She's just wonderful, but then again, you already know this. Hugs K

    Like

  2. I loved the coasters I have and had no idea until recently they were made in this manner. The pocket letter with the stamp from Alys is just beautiful. I just found a box of my scrapbooking stuff in storage but need help to get it down. Oh my, I wish you were closer for classes. 🙂 MH

    Like

  3. Yes! All of the above. Sharon is busy working on her Christmas cards, but we did get together over the weekend to take a class with Richele Christensen, a project manager at Tim Holtz. We made a mixed media Halloween scene. I'll take pictures!

    Like

  4. I'm certain of it. Dad didn't have time to work on his hobby in the States. We arrived in November of 1966 and he died August of 1969…less than three years. He was sick for nine months before that. So yes, Canada to America, America to Canada and now Canada to Belgium. I wish we knew too.

    Like

  5. Thanks again for all your cheer and support Marie. You've been so generous. I really enjoyed planning and making all the pockets. Each one, like a very small canvas. I've just sorted all the fantastic die-cuts you gifted me. I put them all into small envelopes so I can easily add them to a project. I can't stop looking at them all. Like little jewels, adorable garden shapes of leaves and whimsical stems. So cute! This is something I'll do again soon! Thank you for introducing me to a whole new way to paper craft! ❤ ❤

    Like

  6. This post is very interesting!!!Thank you so much for featuring me in your post & for the exchange, it was a pleasure!!!! I love your pocket letter & your coaster!!!! ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  7. This post is very interesting!!!Thank you so much for featuring me in your post & for the exchange, it was a pleasure!!!! I love your pocket letter & your coaster!!!! ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  8. I love Tammy's site. She's so generous to share downloadable's and tutorials. I've watched a lot of them and learned so much. I hadn't seen the Halloween card yet! I must go see soon. Will you and Sharon get together to make cards? Man I wish we could all hang out…and that Urban was located in California….and that California had Alberta weather……oh well, we'll work it out 😀 Love you xoxox K

    Like

  9. 😀 big smile !! Thanks hon. That little stamp is so perfect. It was meant to be gifted then crafted then sent away again. It's sure gotten around. Do you think you were still in Canada when it was collected? It'd be Canada to America, back to Canada now off to Belgium. A little piece of history. I sure wish we knew what was first posted in 1903 <3 xoxox

    Like

  10. PS How cool that you connected with Tammy T and that she loved your clever coasters. I just started following her blog. And get this: she has a tutorial for a Halloween card using one of the stamps I bought at Urban over the summer (the witch's hat). Love

    Like

Comments are closed.