KELLY’S KORNER – Coasting Through Summer

Hello from the Korner !
 I’ve really, really missed you.

Wow, already August! Can you even believe it?  I hope your summer has been as fantastic as mine.  In no specific order, my summer so far, has included London, France, hosting my best friend, fairy gardens, family fun, the Rocky Mountains, shovelling rock, home decorating and my very first class at Urban! Whew! Check it out………

But enough of my Tom Foolery. I couldn’t wait to get back to work, all of you and my sweet, sweet life of crafting and scrapping.  One thing is sure, I will always have time for  colouring no matter what life throws my way. Have you hopped on this crazy fantastic colouring trend yet?



When Urban received a collection of Spellbinders stamps designed by Tammy Tutterow , I quickly snapped up a few I couldn’t resist. But instead of making the usual greeting card, I made a collection of large coasters that I can easily mail to friends. 

Here’s the low-down on my DIY.  After sanding a set of four coasters I got at the dollar store, I traced the coasters onto various patterned papers and cut that out with scissors.  
 

 

Now the fun part.  Stamp, colour and paint!
 
I used my Zig Clean Color Real Brush Pens to colour the artwork.  There’s 60 gorgeous colours. 
 
 
Urban sells them either individually, so you can pick the ones you love or we can order you the complete collection. 

 

Using my fingertips and various bottle tops, I also added some awesomeness with Finnabar’s Metallique Acrylic paints. What’s cool about these is, they’re transparent too. Aren’t the colours delicious? With colours like ‘Pure Sunshine’, they’re right up my alley!
 
I loved colouring and painting the same stamp with multiple looks, no two are alike!

 

Wouldn’t they be fun at a Bridal Shower or unique hostess gift?  Maybe a nice gift for a favourite teacher?  If you’re mailing them to friends like I did, you can write your message on the back. Presto! A greeting coaster for friends like me who enjoy a glass of wine now and again, LOL.
 
 
Let me know if you make some of your own. We always love to see your projects. Pop into The Urban Scrapbook for a close up look at my DIY, sorry wine is not included, ha!


I hope your day is Happy & Joyful,
Cheers from Kelly, at the Korner
for The Urban Scrapbook

 

SaveSave

2 thoughts on “KELLY’S KORNER – Coasting Through Summer

Comments are closed.