KELLY’S KORNER – Soft Like A Bunny

Soft like a bunny? Of course I’m describing the soft pastel shades of Easter.  Did you think I was going to write an essay about yours truly?

source

We’ve been getting our Easter fix over at The Urban Scrapbook. Some bunnies have been updating the displays with new products, samples and spring inspiration.


All our Urban Monthly Page Challenge layouts are now on display. The paper is Echo Park – Easter and each one ‘a perfection in pastel’.  

I was so inspired by our beautiful spring-like weather, I did another layout, this one using Echo Park’s – Spring collection. 



Some elements I’ve used to add texture and interest:

-shaped buttons
-messy piles of thread
-staples
-Texture Paste for Clouds
-Rhinestones
-Stickles and Perfect Pearls by Ranger

What’s an Easter holiday without a pretty basket of chocolate goodness?  I found this tutorial by Bibi Cameron for making small baskets super helpful. Bonus, they’re very quick and easy.

The floral paper is brand new Webster Pages and it coordinates perfectly with the new Echo Park Foil Dot Paper. It comes in a multitude of yummy colours and I’m afraid I’m quite mad for it.



To make these baskets, I cut down a 12 x 12 to measure 10 x 12.  Then scored it at .5, 4, 5, 6, and 9.5   The .5 measurements at each end of the paper allow you to turn in a band all around the top of the basket for sturdiness. The three middle scores become the bottom of the basket.  They stand up very nice.

The handles are Tulle and knotted on the outside of the basket. You could also use a nice wide coordinating ribbon. The nest is just shredded tissue paper. Be sure to grab extra paper for a matching card. I used a Sizzix Framelits Die that has a small window, perfect for adding coordinating embellishments.


I’m sharing this chalkboard project by Krista too. Isn’t it cute? Perfect for her daughters room. We have the frames for sale at Urban, just waiting for your own creativeness.


What’s on-deck?  OMGosh, what isn’t? 


Hmmmm, looks interesting right?  Lori just brought in six new pastel shades of Tulle, perfect for all our spring projects. She’s the best (tee-hee, brownie points) !! I’m also crazy excited about these new paints we’ve received from Pebeo. You can paint on wood, glass, tile, canvas and other surfaces. Check out this link for a fun demo, you will be amazed at it’s magical properties. I was blown away.  

Plus a little of this and that made up a fine new collection just waiting to make magic in the craft room. We’ve got new stencils, dies, stamps, paint and specialty art papers.  If you can’t find what you need, just ask an Urban Girl and we’ll do our best to find it for you. 


Did you know “Easter is the one time of year when it’s perfectly safe to put all your eggs in one basket”?  

Thanks a bunch for hopping by,
Kelly
For The Urban Scrapbook

Dies Used This Week

Impression Obsession Cats – DIE083-K
Impression Obsession Butterflies – DIE046-A
Impression Obsession Bunnies – DIE043-G
Lifestyle Nesting Scallop Rectangles 
Sizzix Framelits – 659173

5 thoughts on “KELLY’S KORNER – Soft Like A Bunny

  1. Good Morning dear Alys! I've been Bunny Basket making all week. They're like tiny canvas's. The fun part is picking the colour and making a label. I messed around with the paints a wee bit last night (this morning?) and a plethora of ink, paste and other paint. It's fun to be an wanna-B Arteeest, and what better place to work? Throw in a glass of wine, light a candle and Bobs your uncle (my craft room smelt like christmas tree last night LOL).

    Happily, the Urban Girls all get a generous discount that allows us to try all the treasure. I can't buy it all (I have no room) but I do like to be able to shop talk art supplies with visitors. So working with the products is one of the luxuries of this job. Lynette and Jan have been using many of our products for years, I defer to their expertise. It's awesome to have so many experienced artists around. Then, we do learn from our customers too, many of them are very talented. Everyone has a niche and yes, lot's of fun! xoxo ❤

    Like

  2. I love those little baskets and that beautiful card. What gorgeous paper! Those paints are intriguing. And they look like old-fashioned lamps too. LOL.

    Sometimes I get overwhelmed with so many new things to try. You've got the knack for jumping in and using everything new to come along. What fun…and what a skill.

    Like

  3. Hello Hello lovely Pamela. I'm typing this with my window open and birds are chirping. The sun is shining and it's 5c or 42F. Im so happy it's spring. Thank you so much for your message. I'm really happy to hear you say so, because I've finally mailed your parcel yesterday and I hope you receive it before Easter.

    Much Love Kelly's Cottontail xo

    Like

  4. Hello Hello lovely Pamela. I'm typing this with my window open and birds are chirping. The sun is shining and it's 5c or 42F. Im so happy it's spring. Thank you so much for your message. I'm really happy to hear you say so, because I've finally mailed your parcel yesterday and I hope you receive it before Easter.

    Much Love Kelly's Cottontail xo

    Like

Comments are closed.