KELLY’S KORNER – Wake Up & Be Awesome


 Maya Angelou is quoted as saying,
Be a rainbow in 
someones cloud

I like that ! There’s nothing nicer than being a bright spot in someones dull day. 

Working at Urban is never dull and honestly I’m happy as a lark to be part of Lori’s team. Bonus, we also get the opportunity to play with all the latest and greatest stuff.  It’s all here somewhere, LOL !

Just keeping it real folks. I admit, my playroom craft room is a little out-of-control this week. I’ve been making a layout with Echo Park’s new Spring collection and a couple of my favourite ADORNit colouring doodles. 



It’s just totally awesome to be able to add custom coloured embellishments to a layout.  I used Chromatix pens and love how vibrant they are.  The aqua doily is by Doodlebug, the roses are Kaiserkraft and the sequin is available in a plethora of colours at Urban. 


I started with Heidi Swapp’s Metallic Texture Paste in Teal and a new Wall of Words stencil designed by Carolyn Dube for Stencil Girl. Ooooh, sparkly!  Next, using a blending tool, I added some co-ordinating inks through another new stencil by Carabelle.  Now you know why my craft room looks the way it does. I really can’t resist the new products from CHA and I’m on a mission to have it all, ha!


I also used the same Chromatix pens to colour co-ordinate some Doodle Washi Tape. This one’s called Doodle Flowers.  So cute right? You can check out more of the collection at Urban. 

I thought it’d be fun if my photo kind of looked like the Doodle. I hand tinted a B&W photo in Photoshop and used a black pen around the mat to emulate the Doodle.  What do you think? Twins?

Want to try something similar on your very own page?

1. Stitch around your layout to frame it
2. Build a collage on a pile of string
3. Add sparkle with gems, sequins and Stickles
4. Shape your Doodle Art, it doesn’t have to be square

I guess it’s time to clean up my mess. OR, I could just start something new. Because, ‘creative clutter is better than idle neatness’. 

Happy ‘almost spring’!
From Kelly
For The Urban Scrapbook

Dies used on this project:


7 thoughts on “KELLY’S KORNER – Wake Up & Be Awesome

  1. Hi Carolyn, how awesome for you to leave such a kind message. Thank you so kindly. I was really inspired by your stencil. I tried to show off my favourite parts, but I'm more of a 'seat of my pants' creator. I know I'll use again and again because new phrases will show up in every project. I'm updating my post to include a link to your site 😀 Happy artful moments to you! Cheers, Kelly for The Urban Scrapbook

    Like

  2. Hello and thank you for visiting and your wonderful message too. I'm all about the pastels lately and they make me feel hopefully for spring weather. Do you also like to use texture paste or inks or paint? Maybe all of the above? It's hard to decide which ones to bring home since everything coming in the door is divine. See you again! Kelly For The Urban Scrapbook

    Like

  3. Curlers in my hair…LOL, I was 'Waking up and being awesome' 😀 That's a 'Face In The Whole'. Have you ever been on that website. Lot's of fun.

    The pens I used to colour everything are so nice. They have a brush on one end and a felt tip on the other. So it's easy to be creative with colour. My Doodle twin and I shop at the same outlet store 😀

    I hope well have time to play around with a project when you come this summer. I don't want to wear you out with outings everyday, we can just hang too <3 xo Thank you for being my cheerleader hon, I so appreciate all your visits. xo k

    Like

  4. I read this on my phone yesterday, but I miss all the wonderful details in that tiny format. I didn't see, for instance, how glamorous you look in curlers. Oh my.

    What a fun way to create a custom layout. The colors are vibrant and all the details full of whimsy. I like the way you cut angled paper and made pockets or slots for the pics. You look adorable in yellow, just like you doodle twin. I'm a little jealous…

    I'm intrigued by all these new products and the color they bring to the table. I hope I can learn a few techniques on my summer visit.

    Like

We always love hearing from you !

