KELLY’S KORNER – My Story

Welcome to February……first stop, Love Town !
 
So, what keeps us going?  Lots and lots of coffee !
 
 
And all the new and exciting products arriving from CHA.   It’s  pretty hard to resist, so I don’t.  I’m totally crazy about all the  bright colours, it’s starting to feel a lot like spring at The Urban Scrapbook.
 
 
Everyone is working hard at getting it out so you can have a boo. Some things are moving around the store, but you’re probably used to it right?  If you’re looking for something you can’t find, please be sure to ask. 
 
With Valentine’s Day just around the corner, check out these adorable Valentine treats. Dorothy’s designed this class for young adults but I think it’d be lots of fun for anyone.  
 
 
I’m always inspired by the awesome projects the Urban Girls design for display and classes and we hope you are too. I mostly enjoy a good old fashioned layout. I still had a collection of My Minds Eye left from my Valentine Banner Project
 
 
This paper is called ‘My Story’ and it’s so hot right now. You can visit my Pinterest Board for a ton more gorgeous idea’s.
 
 
So I’ve also made a layout celebrating L-O-V-E (insert blushing cheeks).
 
 
The process of picking papers, deciding which side to use, adding die cuts and collaging it all together into a cacophony of fun is what I enjoy most.  Here’s some idea’s to try.
 
Above: 1. Use a fine tip pen to add stitching 2. Combine a few tiny elements to draw the eye to a restful spot on a busy layout 3. Introduce movement by placing coiled wire under a butterfly. 4. Tuck subtle messages discreetly into your work.
 
Above: 5 Incorporate Tulle in fun ways, here it’s the flash of a vintage camera 6. Have some elements fall off your page, like the heart in this corner. It suggests a more random feeling. 
 
Of course, I’m always adding to my die collection and happily took a few home, here’s what I’ve used:
 
The hearts were cut using two sets of nesting dies by Memory Box and the cute XOX attached to the typewriter is from Lawn Fawn. I’m a slave to their dies, they’re so cute and original.
 
If you’ve got a minute, come on by and say hello!  We have lots of great new stuff to share. I think love is definitely in the air, can you feel it too?  I’m inhaling deeply and sharing this: Give the ones you love, wings to fly, roots to come back to and reasons to stay….Dalia Lama
 
From my heart to yours,
Kelly
For The Urban Scrapbook
 
 
 

We always love hearing from you !

