KELLY’S KORNER – Christmas Countdown

What do you say? Let’s slow ourselves down a wee bit and take in all the wonder of the season. As I’ve been making my way through the task of Christmas shopping, I’ve noticed people are a little cheerier and more polite.  A nice fellow held the door for me today and said, “Merry Christmas” with a smile.  It was so nice.  I’d like to think we can carry the ‘Christmas Sparkle’ through-out the year, who’s with me?

If shopping the malls is making you a little twitchy, come on by Urban during our Countdown to Christmas.  There’s a new deal everyday. Be sure to sign up for emails or visit us on Facebook.

Speaking of countdowns,  here’s an thrifty and fun project to make for a friend or even as a hostess gift.  The main ingredients are a muffin pan and some scrapbook paper.

And of course an assortment of goodies to put into the cups.


Some other things you might put in it are homemade coupons for favours, little love notes or poems. How about an invitation for dinner out?  Tickets to The Nutcracker or cinema. Of course there’s always chocolates.  Once you’ve filled the muffin cups, glue numbered disks on top.   I used Memory Box Stitched Circles and Stitched Scallop Circle dies to make the disks.

It was fun to shop for treasures and I actually made two Advents.  One tip I can give you is to use a metal tin versus silicon.  It was tricky getting anything to stick to the silicon muffin tin.  I thought it was fun that it was red though. 
We have a few Kaisercraft 25 day Advents at Urban and they turn out rather cute too.  You can link to the tutorial here.

I gifted one of my Muffin Tin Advents with a recipe book all wrapped in a Christmas Tea Towel.  See you at Urban, Santa’s got a list, he’s checking it twice to find out who’s been naughty and who’s been nice.  Remember to sparkle and, “if you have good thoughts, they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you’ll always look lovely”, Ronald Dahl.

See you here Christmas Eve!

Kelly
For The Urban Scrapbook