KELLY’S KORNER – LET IT SNOW

Merry holiday making fellow Scrap Goddesses.  I think I can call us that, given all the projects going down right now.
Do you ever feel like you want to incorporate something new into your projects? That was me this month. Naturally, I work at the perfect job. We grow, expand and explore (where no scrappers have gone before) HA! Sorry, Trekkie from way back. So, I got my butt into Elaine’s ‘Crazy Bird Holiday Cards’ class.  Could they be any cuter?  Guess what? We have the stamps and dies in the store!
Card Design by Elaine T for The Urban Scrapbook and made by your’s truly.
It was a ton of fun and Elaine is the most organized person. Every card was pre-cut, pre-packaged, pre-tty awesome!!  We painted our Crazy Birds with water pens and Tim Holtz Distress Inks. If you’ve never tried this, come on down and join a class.  You’ll feel like a real artist with brush in hand. I was so inspired, I made a few more of my own design too. This time using Wild Rose Stamps.
First, stamping my images on the Stitched Circle by Memory Box with Archival Black ink. Then, using my Distress Inks, smudged on a craft mat I picked up the colour with Derwent Water Brushes. It’s fun to see your images change from black and white to colour. BTW, how awesome are these collapsable water cups? They’re just ready when you are and travel to classes so easily.

Elaine also walked us through a nifty trick for finishing a shaker card in a jiffy. We used sticky-backed craft foam that’s cut into strips narrow enough to hide under the globe frame. Because they’re super flexible, the strips are easily glued to your round painted disc. 

Once dry, I added some snow flakes using Stampendous Shaved Ice.  I decided to spray my acrylic windows with white paint using my new Tim Holtz Splatter Brush. Wow! It looks just like snow. I was really tickled how this brush makes such evenly spaced, even sized splatters. That’s money well spent, just fab!

Finally, glue the acrylic window to the globe art and then the narrow globe frame on top. Say!  Did you know you can dab on baby powder to rid your projects of any sticky spots?  My friend Alys showed me this trick.  Just dust the edges of your globe for any sticky glue residue. 

Assembly is a breeze in your favourite Holiday colours.  Want to guess what mine are?  Hey! Don’t forget to make an jolly envelope.  Of course I used my We-R Memory Keepers Punch Board, man I love that thing.

We’re so thankful to those who’ve brought groceries for the food bank too, thank you everyone. We have the most caring friends and customers, bar none.  We’re collecting until December 19th, so there’s still time to contribute and enter our draw.

Did you know we’re also drawing for giant box of cards made by The Urban Girls?  The one’s I made are included but it’s plumb full of goodness for all occasions. Our celebrity scrapper, Jan Hobbins has added over a dozen amazing cards you will die for.  Tickets are just $5.00 each, with all proceeds going to The Mustard Seed.  They’ll be happy for it and I’m sure it’ll go a long way to helping make the holidays a bit brighter for those in need this Christmas Season. Please help if you can.

Until next week, Keep Calm And Holiday On.


Urban Gold Members Gift bags Created by Lynette (for those who attended our Gold Member Party)

From one Holiday Goddess to another,
Cheers! 
Kelly for The Urban Scrapbook